News Release

Disaster Unemployment Assistance for Greene and Perry Counties

Font Size Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size
MDES Print this page MDES Email this page MDES Post to Facebook Share Page

March 7, 2013

Jackson – On March 4, 2013, two additional Mississippi counties were added to the President’s disaster declaration for residents who are eligible for individual assistance. This declaration opens the door to affected individuals living or working in these additional counties to receive Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

The Mississippi Department of Employment Security is continuing to accept applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance from those living or working in counties that received a federal disaster declaration because of damages from the recent outbreak of tornados in south Mississippi.

Affected workers in Greene and Perry counties have until April 8, 2013, to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Jefferson Davis county was added on March 1, 2013 and affected workers in that county have until April 3, 2013 to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

On February 15, 2013, MDES announced that assistance was available in Forrest and Lamar counties. Workers in these counties have until March 18, 2013, to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. On February 20, MDES announced assistance for workers in Marion and Wayne counties. Workers in these counties have until March 22, 2013, to apply.

Self-employed individuals, who were living or working in the affected areas at the time of the major disaster, and those who are unemployed as a result of the major disaster, may be eligible for DUA. In addition, those who were unable to reach their jobs, because the disaster prevented their travel, or who were scheduled to begin employment, but the disaster prevented them from doing so, may apply.

Eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who: (1) became the major support for a household because of the disaster-related death of the head of the household; (2) cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster, and; (3) could not work or lost work as a result of physical damage or destruction of a business.

Individuals in Forrest, Lamar, Marion, Wayne, Jefferson Davis, Greene and Perry counties in Mississippi can apply online 24 hours a day at or by calling toll-free, 1-888-844-3577 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.