News Release

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Amended

Font Size Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size
MDES Print this page MDES Email this page MDES Post to Facebook Share Page

February 20, 2013

Jackson - The Mississippi Department of Employment Security began accepting applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance from those living or working in counties that received a federal disaster declaration because of damages from the recent Tornado.

The President has declared two additional counties eligible for individual assistance, opening the door to affected workers to receive Disaster Unemployment Assistance. As of February 15, 2013, this declaration was amended to include Marion and Wayne counties.

Affected workers included in this declaration have until March 22, 2013, to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

On February 15, 2013, MDES announced that Disaster Unemployment Assistance was available in Forrest and Lamar counties. Workers in these counties have until March 18, 2013, to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. Self-employed individuals, who were living or working in the affected areas at the time of the major disaster, and those who are unemployed as a result of the major disaster, may be eligible for DUA. In addition, those who were unable to reach their jobs, because the disaster prevented their travel, or who were scheduled to begin employment, but the disaster prevented them from doing so, may apply.

Eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who: (1) became the major support for a household because of the disaster-related death of the head of the household; (2) cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster, and; (3) could not work or lost work as a result of physical damage or destruction of a business.

Individuals in Marion and Wayne counties in Mississippi can apply online 24 hours a day at or by calling toll-free, 1-888-844-3577 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.