News Release

Five More Mississippi Counties Eligible for Hurricane Isaac Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Font Size Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size
MDES Print this page MDES Email this page MDES Post to Facebook Share Page

October 2, 2012
Jackson -  

The Mississippi Department of Employment Security has begun accepting applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance from people living or working in five additional counties that have received a federal disaster declaration because of damages from Hurricane Isaac. The added counties are: Copiah, Franklin, Jefferson, Jones, and Lamar.  

Earlier this week the President declared them eligible for individual assistance opening the door to affected workers to receive Disaster Unemployment Assistance.  Affected workers included in this amended declaration have until November 2, 2012, to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

On September 4, 2012, MDES announced that Disaster Unemployment Assistance was available in Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, and Pearl River counties.  Workers in these counties have until October 4, 2012, to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. On September 10, 2012, the declaration was amended to include Adams, Amite, Clarke, Forrest, George, Hinds, Lincoln, Marion, Pike, Stone, Walthall, Warren and Wilkinson counties.  Workers in these counties have until October 10, 2012, to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Self-employed individuals, who were living or working in the affected areas at the time of the major disaster, and those who are unemployed as a result of the major disaster, may be eligible for DUA.  In addition, those who were unable to reach their jobs, because the disaster prevented their travel, or who were scheduled to begin employment, but the disaster prevented them from doing so, may apply. 

Eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who:  (1) became the major support for a household because of the disaster-related death of the head of the household; (2) cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster; and; (3) could not work or lost work as a result of physical damage or destruction of a business.

Individuals in all of the eligible disaster assistance counties in Mississippi can apply online 24 hours a day at or by calling toll-free, 1-888-844-3577 from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Monday through Friday.